Cross Country Bears Picked Third in Pre-Championship Rankings
Senior Terry Phillips is a two-time MVC All-Conference selection.
Senior Terry Phillips is a two-time MVC All-Conference selection.

Oct. 25, 2011

ST. LOUIS -- The 2011 State Farm Missouri Valley Conference Cross Country Championships will be held this Sunday, October 30, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course in Terre Haute, Ind. hosted by Indiana State University. The women's 5K race will begin at 11:30 a.m., following the completion of the men's 8K race.

The Missouri State cross country team was voted third in the coaches' pre-championship poll released on Monday. Wichita State is the pre-championship favorite looking for its seventh-straight title.

"We want to go to Terre Haute healthy and fresh," said first-year Bears' head coach Alick Musukuma. "If we are pain free and enjoying what we are doing, the results will be there."

Under Musukuma, Missouri State checks in at the No. 3 position with 69 points. The Bears took home top team honors at the Greater Louisville Classic's blue race after first and second-place performances by 2010 MVC All-Conference performer Terry Phillips and junior Emily Beaver. Missouri State also ran to a 12th-place finish while competing against nationally ranked teams at the 2011 Chile Pepper Festival on Oct. 15.

"I am trying to help them understand what it takes to be champions," Musukuma commented. "If they are hungry for that championship, I don't think they can be beat. They are looking great in practice right now so it will be an exciting meet."

During the week leading up to the State Farm MVC Cross Country Championships, Musukuma has taken a moment to send encouraging words to his runners.

"I told them, `together, everyone accomplishes more.'" Musukuma said. "It's not a battle of skills, but a battle of wills."

Indiana State will be streaming the Championships live. It can be viewed on the Valley's website at

2011 Women's XC Pre-Championship Poll

Team (1st-Place Votes) Points

1. Wichita State (7)


2. Illinois State (2)


3. Missouri State


4. Southern Illinois


5. Indiana State (1)


6. Bradley


7. UNI


8. Drake


9. Evansville


10. Creighton




Official Store

    Watch Video