Midwestern Cross Country Squads Shine at Regional
Emily Beaver
Emily Beaver

Nov. 9, 2012

Women's Results

Men's Results

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The Iowa State women's cross country squad claimed their third consecutive Midwest Regional championship in the 6K race here on Friday (Nov. 9), while the Oklahoma Sooners and Oklahoma State Cowboys tied for the men's 10K title.

The Iowa State and Oklahoma State women's teams earned automatic bids to the national championship meet on Nov. 17 in Louisville, Ky., while Oklahoma and Oklahoma State took the two automatic bids on the men's side.

For the Oklahoma State men, the co-title marked their 11th team championship in the last 16 years. The Sooners won the Regional in 2010, which means either Oklahoma or Oklahoma State has won the last eight men's regional championships.

Iowa State's Betsy Saina won the individual championship on the women's side. The Cyclones senior won the 6K title in 19:51.46, while Wichita State's Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton was the runner-up with a time of 19:55.67. The 1-2 finish was a reversal of last year's Regional top placements, as Tuliamuk-Bolton claimed the 2011 individual championship and Saina finished second.

Tulsa's Chris O'Hare won the men's individual title in 30:25.87. The victory for O'Hare came in his first regional competition since 2010, as the junior had to sit out the 2011 cross country season due to injury. Oklahoma State's Girma Mecheso finished second with a time of 30:25.87.

Two Missouri State runners placed among the top 100 in the 6K race, which featured 211 student-athletes. Junior Erin Edwards finished 75th in 22:26.27, while senior Emily Beaver was 92nd in her last cross country race with a time of 22:39.22.

Redshirt junior Nicole Thate was Missouri State's other participant in the regional and finished 200th in 25:01.57.



Official Store

    Watch Video