Beaver Earns All-Conference Honor as Bears Finish Fourth
Junior Emily Beaver was the top Missouri State finisher for the third meet this season.
Junior Emily Beaver was the top Missouri State finisher for the third meet this season.

Oct. 30, 2011

MVC Women's Individual Results Get Acrobat Reader
MVC Women's Team Results
Get Acrobat Reader

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Junior Emily Beaver raced to an eighth-place finish at the 2011 State Farm Missouri Valley Conference Cross Country Championships (5K) on Sunday and garnered Missouri State’s lone All-Conference honor. After finishing third last year and being voted third in this year’s coaches’ pre-championship poll, the Bears cross country squad dropped a spot, finishing fourth in the team race with 105 points.

For the third meet this season, Beaver was the first Missouri State runner to cross the finish line. The Diamond, Mo. native clocked in at 18:14.20 and recorded a 4:53 pace.

In the team race, Illinois State edged Wichita State by 10 points to win the women’s title, while Shockers’ runner Aliphine Tuliamuk ran away with the individual crown, finishing 24 seconds ahead of the closest competition (17:16.60).

“The thing is they all ran well today,” said head coach Alick Musukuma of the Bears’ performances at LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course. “Cross country is all about position and there were just a few of the other teams that were able to outrun us.”

A pack of Bears’ runners finished within six seconds of each other to secure three more individual top-25 finishes for Missouri State. Sophomore Erin Edwards had the second fastest time for MSU with an 18:37.80 and placed 18th. Two-time MVC All-Conference performer Terry Phillips finished 21st with a time of 18:43.70 and clocking in just 0.2 seconds behind her was freshman Emma Burditt in 22nd place.

Rounding out the Missouri State point scorers were Ashton Stubbs (36th), Lisa Imgrund (53rd) and Dana Roberson (54th).

The Bears will return to action at the NCAA Midwest Regional Championships (6K) in Dekalb, Ill., on Saturday, Nov. 12.

Final Team Standings
44 - Illinois State
54 - Wichita State
91 - Bradley
105 – Missouri State
123 - Northern Iowa
138 – Indiana State
165 - Southern Illinois
209 - Evansville
234 - Drake
279 - Creighton



Official Store

    Watch Video