Joseph's Record-Setting Day Leads Track & Field Bears at MVC Championships
Pernell Joseph
Pernell Joseph

Feb. 23, 2013


CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – Pernell Joseph’s school-record time in the 60-meter dash spearheaded Missouri State’s efforts on the first day of competition here on Saturday (Feb. 23) at the Missouri Valley Conference Indoor Championships. The Bears finished day one with 16 points, good for fifth place.

Joseph raced to a record time of 7.48 seconds in the 60-meter preliminary round, which earned her a first-place finish in the event and a trip to Sunday’s final round. The previous school record of 7.50 seconds was owned by Amber Cumberpatch, who set that standard in 2002. Freshman Shavonne Husbands also qualified for the 60-meter finals by crossing the finish line in sixth place with a time of 7.66 seconds, also a personal best.

Husbands and Joseph also earned finals spots in the 200-meter dash with times of 24.78 and 24.65 seconds, respectively. They’ll join preliminary round champion Althia Maximilien (24.45) in the chase for the crown in that event on Sunday.

Maximilien had a stellar day in the 400-meter dash, earning a spot in the finals with a runner-up finish in 56.02 seconds. Oarabile Babolayi (56.70) will also compete in the 400 tomorrow.

Emily Beaver highlighted the performances from MSU’s distance team, as the senior notched a spot in the 800-meter run finals by running a personal best 2:15.39 in the prelims.

In field events, Kimsue Grant continued her stellar season in the long jump by earning 10 points for Missouri State with her first-place finish. Grant’s distance of 6.30 meters was a new personal best, and ranks as the third-longest distance in Missouri State history. Robiann Broomfield picked up three points and a new personal best by finishing sixth in the event with a mark of 5.60 meters.

After the first day of events, Wichita State leads the rankings with 61 points, followed by Illinois State (34), Indiana State (30), Southern Illinois (29), Missouri State (16), Bradley (9), Northern Iowa (9) and Drake (7). Sunday’s round will get underway at 9:30 a.m. CST.



Official Store

    Watch Video