Soccer's Nia Williams Named 2012-13 MSU Outstanding Female Athlete
Nia Williams named 2012-13 MSU Outstanding Female Athlete Award winner
Nia Williams named 2012-13 MSU Outstanding Female Athlete Award winner

June 24, 2013

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - Former Missouri State defender Nia Williams made it a clean sweep for the women's soccer team in the year-end awards as it was announced Monday that she is the recipient of the 2012-13 Outstanding Female Athlete Award. Voted on by Missouri State's nine women's head coaches, Williams became just the second soccer player to earn the accolade, joining former teammate Samantha Aguilar (2010). Fellow senior, goalkeeper Chelsea Voet, earned the Dr. Mary Jo Wynn Senior Female Student-Athlete Award earlier in the month teaming with Williams to sweep the post-season honors.

Williams (Sr., Roeland Park, Kan.) was named Missouri Valley Conference Defensive Player of the Year, capping a phenomenal four-year career at MSU. She earned all-conference honors in each of her four seasons as a Bear. During the 2012 season, Williams was named MVC Defensive Player of the Week twice, earning the honor on August 21 and October 2. She finished her career with 14 assists, second-most in program history. She also picked up her first career goal, the game-winner against Western Illinois on September 14.

Following her career, Williams became the first MSU women's soccer player to be drafted by a professional team. She was selected by FC Kansas City in the inaugural NWSL Draft on January 18, 2013, in the fourth round. She made her professional debut on May 18 and started her first pro match on June 13, playing all 90 minutes in a road shutout of Chicago.

Other finalists for the 2012-13 Outstanding Female Athlete Award were: All-MVC first-team softball selection Kirstin Cutter (Sr., Oklahoma City Okla.); Lady Bear standout Whitney Edie (Sr., Exeter, Mo.); track and field great Kimsue Grant (Sr., Arlington, Va.); MVC Co-Swimmer of the Year Renata Sander (Jr., Belo Horizonte, Brazil); All-MAC first-team field hockey pick Reiann Stoute (Sr., Bridgetown, Barbados); and back-to-back All-MVC first-team volleyball honoree Carly Thomas (Jr., Swansea, Ill.).



Missouri State Outstanding Female Athlete Award
1981 - Stephanie Dutton, field hockey
1982 - Jennifer Seveland Box, volleyball
1983 - Lynne Strubberg, basketball
1984 - Jeanette Tendai, basketball
1985 - Kim Schwaab, field hockey
1986 - Terri Whitmarsh, softball
1987 - Kathy Crotty, volleyball
1988 - Marjorie DeMarino, field hockey
1989 - Mindy Struckhoff, volleyball
1990 - Susan Ruch, volleyball
1991 - LaWaynta Dawson, basketball
1992 - Barb Gaines, softball
1993 - Barb Gaines, softball
1994 - Melody Howard, basketball
           - Kellie Becher, softball
1995 - Melinda Sallins, track and field
1996 - Melinda Sallins, track and field
1997 - Michelle Baptiste, track and field
1998 - Lisa Davies, basketball
1999 - Verneta Lesforis, track and field
2000 - Jackie Stiles, basketball
2001 - Jackie Stiles, basketball
2002 - Cheasa Gibson, track and field
2003 - Courtney Phillips, swimming & diving
2004 - Cheasa Gibson, track and field
2005 - Casey Owens, track and cross country
2006 - Tracy Partain, track and field
2007 - Sally Hinton, golf
2008 - Missy Linnens, golf
2009 - Jordan Hawkins, swimming & diving
2010 - Samantha Aguilar, soccer
2011 - Chelsea Dirks-Ham, swimming & diving
          - Kelley Michnowicz, volleyball
2012 - Casey Garrison, basketball
2013 - Nia Williams, soccer


Official Store

    Watch Video