Women's Golf Season Concludes with Sixth Place MVC Finish
Megan Furnish shoots career-low in the MVC Championship.
Megan Furnish shoots career-low in the MVC Championship.

April 22, 2014

Schedule | Roster | Twitter | Final Results


SPRINGFIELD, Ill. - Missouri State women's golf finished the Missouri Valley Conference Championship with a score of 305-303-308--916, which places the Bears in sixth of the ten Valley schools.

Continuing a streak where the pre-championship poll favorite wins the entire tournament, Wichita State (297-304-299--900) edged out Indiana State (296-307-298--901) by a stroke. The MVC coaches have correctly picked the eventual conference champion in nine of the last eleven seasons.

The championship is the third in Wichita State's history and their 900 is tied for second lowest 54-hole score.

The 2013 champion Illinois State Redbirds (297-309-300--906) placed third this season, just ahead of Southern Illinois (300-308-300--908) and Bradley (293-306-310--909).

Behind Missouri State were Evansville (305-306-314--925), Northern Iowa (307-313-307--927), Loyola (311-311-307--929), and Drake (305-311-318--934).

Bradley's Danielle Lemek (69-70-73--212) set a conference championship record with a three-round 212, breaking Sofie Eriksson of Tulsa's 215 in 1995. Lemek won this year's championship by seven strokes and was the only player below par at 4-under.

Wichita State's Alejandra Arellano (73-72-74--219) and Indiana State's Amanda Smith (75-76-68--219) tied for second. Smith's 68 on Tuesday ties for the second-best 18-hole MVC Championship round (67 is the record).

Indiana State' McCall Christopher (69-75-76--220) and Southern Illinois' Cassie Rushing (73-77-70--220) tied for fourth, and were two strokes ahead of Missouri State's Megan Furnish (76-73-73--222).



Furnish's set new career bests for a single round (73), 54-hole tournament (222), and ending position (6th).

Junior Estefania Acosta moved up a position in the standings into a tie for 11th after recording a 77-74-75--226 at the conference tournament. Acosta tied her season-low after carding her 226.

Chiara Citterio shot 75-79-77--231, below her season average as well, to finish tied for 23rd.  Ariel Tidwell (77-77-84--238) and Caroline Boone (84-80-83--247) round out the field for the Bears. 

Immediately following the tournament the Missouri Valley Conference released the 2013-14 All-MVC selections and specialty award recipients.

Missouri State junior Megan Thompson was named to the all-conference team, despite not playing this week due to injury. This is the second-consecutive year that Thompson has been named to the All-Valley team. Full individual award recipients are listed below.


All-Conference Team
Marissa Uradomo, Indiana State
Kayla Katterhenry, Evansville
Cassie Rushing, Southern Illinois
Megan Schuetz, Wichita State
Amanda Smith, Indiana State
Megan Thompson, Missouri State
Bryce Schroeder, Wichita State
McCall Christopher, Indiana State
Alejandra Arellano, Wichita State
Danielle Lemek, Bradley
Elite 18 Winner - Megan Schuetz, Wichita State
Newcomer of the Year - Kayla Katterhenry, Evansville
Golfer of the Year - Danielle Lemek, Bradley
Coach of the Year - Tom McCurdy, Wichita State


Official Store

    Watch Video