Edie, Snow Receive All-Conference Honors



March 13, 2013

St. LOUIS -- Senior forward Whitney Edie and freshman guard Tyonna Snow are Missouri State’s representatives on all-Missouri Valley Conference women’s basketball teams, the league announced Wednesday (March 13). Edie is an honorable mention all-league choice, and Snow appears on the All-Freshman Team, which is composed of only true freshmen around the league.

Edie leads Missouri State in both scoring (14.5) and rebounding (8.1) average while ranking fifth in the MVC in each category. The senior from Exeter, Mo., has nine double-doubles this season, 23 games of scoring at least 10 points and 10 with at least 10 rebounds. The MVC Player of Week Dec. 1, Edie ranks ninth in MSU history with 66 career blocked shots, including 24 this season.

Snow averages 8.8 points, 4.8 rebounds and 2.4 steals per game in her first season on campus. The Blue Springs, Mo., native set Missouri State records for free throws attempts (26) and makes (18) in a game Feb. 21 against Southern Illinois, and her 160 trips to the foul line lead the MSU attack that ranks second nationally in that category. Snow set an MSU debut record with eight steals against Oklahoma State in November, and has at least four thefts in seven games this season. Additionally, her 255 points rank 16th in school history among freshmen.

The Lady Bears (14-16, 6-12 MVC) begin play at the conference tournament in St. Charles, Mo., Thursday at 4:05 p.m. against ninth-seeded Drake.

First Team
Jessica Diamond, Wichita State
Alex Harden, Wichita State
Marissa Janning, Creighton
Jacqui Kalin, UNI
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Jamie Russell, Illinois State

Second Team
Kyndal Clark, Creighton
Samantha Heck, Evansville
Anna Munn, Indiana State
Janae Smith, Illinois State
Katie Yohn, Bradley

Honorable Mention
Whitney Edie, Missouri State
Mallory Ladd, Evansville
Cartaesha Macklin, Southern Illinois
Racheal Mahan, Indiana State
Candace Sykes, Illinois State

All-Freshman Team
Marissa Janning, Creighton
Marina Laramie, Indiana State
Rishonda Napier, Southern Illinois
Hannah Schonhardt, UNI
Tyonna Snow, Missouri State

All-Defensive Team
Kyndal Clark, Drake
Alex Harden, Wichita State
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Jamie Russell, Illinois State
Taylor Whitley, Indiana State



Official Store

    Watch Video