Williams Selected to MVC Scholar-Athlete First Team
Kenzie Williams
Kenzie Williams

March 11, 2014

St. LOUIS -- Missouri State sophomore guard Kenzie Williams has been selected to the Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete First Team, the league office announced Tuesday (March 11).

Williams gives the Lady Bears a first-team choice for a third consecutive season and carries a 3.79 cumulative grade point average while pursuing a degree in elementary education. She is joined on the first team by Brooke Brown (UNI), Anna Munn (Indiana State), Chloe Nelson (Illinois State) and Michelle Young (Bradley).

A native of nearby Mt. Vernon, Williams was MSU’s leading scorer through 21 games before an injury cut her season short in early February. She averaged 14.8 points, 4.8 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.4 steals this year, ranking sixth in the MVC in scoring, seventh in 3-point accuracy (.372) and six in free throw percentage (.794).

Williams led the Lady Bears in scoring in 10 of her 21 games, including a season-high 32 points against Lamar, and is a two-time MVC Player of the Week. She scored in double figures in each of the season’s first 15 games, the longest streak to start a season at MSU since Kari Koch in 2005.

The Lady Bears (13-16, 8-10 MVC) begin play at the conference tournament in St. Charles, Mo., Thursday at 7:07 p.m. against 10th-seeded Southern Illinois.

The criteria for the MVC’s Scholar-Athlete Team voting parallels the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for Capital One Academic All-America voting. Nominees must be starters or important reserves with at least a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average (4.0 scale). Student-athletes must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institution (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were not eligible), must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution and must have played in 75 percent of their team’s games.

First Team
Brooke Brown, UNI
Anna Munn, Indiana State (MVP)
Chloe Nelson, Illinois State
Kenzie Williams, Missouri State
Michelle Young, Bradley

Second Team
Bilqis Abdul-Qaadir, Indiana State
Kelsey Budd, Bradley
Kelsey Jacobs, Wichita State
Jen Keitel, UNI
Mallory Ladd, Evansville

Honorable Mention
Lyndsey Booker, Loyola
Jordyn Courier, Southern Illinois
Stephanie Davison, UNI
Brittni Donaldson, UNI
Liza Heap, Drake
Kasey Johnson, Indiana State
Catie O’Leary, Bradley
Katy Winge, Illinois State



Official Store

    Watch Video