Boshe Named MVC's Top Scholar-Athlete, Joined by Buer on First Team
Lacey Boshe
Lacey Boshe

March 6, 2012

St. LOUIS -- Missouri State's Lacey Boshe is the Prairie Farms Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year and is joined by Karly Buer as two of the five Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete First Team members, the league office announced Tuesday.

Boshe, a 6-foot-1 senior forward, carries a perfect 4.0 GPA with a double major in Cell and Molecular Biology and Spanish. She was honored last month with a spot on the Capitol One Academic All-America Second Team, becoming the sixth Lady Bear in program history to earn that distinction.

The Marshfield, Mo., native, is averaging 5.2 points and 2.8 rebounds per game for the Lady Bears (21-7, 14-4 Missouri Valley Conference) this season while shooting 48 percent from the floor in 16.8 minutes per game. She also has 28 assists, 13 steals and seven blocks in 28 games. Boshe ranks fourth in Missouri State history in career games played (126), 21st in blocked shots (30), 23rd in free throws made (201) and 35th in scoring (786).

Buer was inserted into the starting lineup early in the conference season and served as a spark plug as the Lady Bears won in each of her first 11 starts to capture the league title. She closed the MVC season by scoring in double figures in 10 of MSU's final 13 games and averaged 10.7 points, 3.4 rebounds and 2.9 assists for the conference slate.

The Concordia, Kan., native has a 3.88 GPA in Sport and Park Administration, and made 30 consecutive free throws from Jan. 27-Feb. 10 for the No. 3 streak at MSU and 11th-longest in MVC history. Her 15 made free throws Feb. 10 versus Wichita State served as the No. 3 single-game total in MSU history, and her three 20-point games on the year came against teams that finished 2-3-4 in the MVC.

To qualify for consideration for the MVC Scholar-Athlete Team, players must have a minimum 3.20 grade-point average and be a starter or key reserve. The team is voted on each year by the league's 10 sports information directors.

First Team
Lacey Boshe, Missouri State (MVP)
Karly Buer, Missouri State
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Shannon Thomas, Indiana State
MacKenzie Westcott, Bradley

Second Team
Jessica Diamond, Wichita State
Amber Kirschbaum, UNI
Deja Mattox, Indiana State
Anna Munn, Indiana State
Taylor Ware, Evansville

Honorable Mention
Kelsey Budd, Bradley
Meagan Collins, Evansville
Ally Jensen, Creighton
Chloe Nelson, Illinois State
Lauren Niemiera, Bradley
Catie O'Leary, Bradley
Andrea Rademacher, Indiana State
Amber Wollschlager, Drake
Katie Yohn, Bradley



Official Store

    Watch Video