Missouri State Soccer Players, Coaches Honored as MVC Bests
Junior Defender James Fawke was named the conference's best defender.
Junior Defender James Fawke was named the conference's best defender.

Nov. 14, 2013

Schedule/Results  | Roster  | @MSUBearsMSoccer  | MVC Release

PEORIA, Ill. - Missouri State's James Fawke was named the Missouri Valley Conference's Defensive Player of the Year at the conference's annual awards banquet held at the site of the conference tournament on Thursday evening. Coach Jon Leamy and his coaching staff of Michael Seabolt and Ger Coppinger were also recognized as the conference's best coaching staff.

Fawke, the junior from Cheltenham, England, became the third Missouri State defender to win the MVC's Defender of the Year. Fawke also becomes the first Bears position player to receive the honor, with goalkeepers Mark Modersohn (1999) and Alex Riggs (2009) being the previous recipients.

The team captain had a tremendous season patrolling the back line of the conference's top defense. The Bears tied the conference record by allowing just one goal throughout MVC play.

Fawke started all 16 games for the Bears, led the team in minutes played throughout the regular season, and was named to the pre-season all-conference team back in August as well.

For the second time since the MVC Coach of the Year Award became the Coaching Staff of Year in 1996, the Missouri State staff received the league's yearly award.



Head coach Jon Leamy (22nd Season), Michael Seabolt (7th Season), and Ger Coppinger (3rd Season) guided the Bears to the program's fifth regular season title. Leamy and Seabolt were part of the staff to win the award in 2009.

Prior to the award changing from MVC Coach of the Year, Leamy was honored in 1995, 1997, and 1999.

The Missouri Valley Conference also named its all-conference teams (1st, 2nd, and Honorable Mention) and all-freshman team at the banquet.

Included on the all-conference first team list are Fawke, Jack Roberts, and Trevor Spangenberg. On the all-conference honorable mention team are Brandon Besong and Emmerich Hoegg. Missouri State's Jack Griffin was named to the all-freshman team.

Missouri State will play on Friday, Nov. 15th in the conference tournament semi-final game against SIU Edwardsville at 3:06 p.m. The game will be streamed live on http://www.valley-live.tv/.

First Team

GK - John Berner, SIUE

F - Wojciech Wojcik, Bradley

F - Mark Anthony Gonzalez, Evansville

MF - Faik Hajderovic, Evansville

MF - Matt Polster, SIUE

D - James Fawke, Missouri State

D - Nick Marshall, Drake

D - Alec Bartlett, Drake

WC - Jack Roberts, Missouri State (MF)

WC - Christian Volesky, SIUE (F)

WC - Trevor Spangenberg, MSU (GK)


Second Team

GK - Brian Billings, Bradley

F - Alon Badat, Bradley

F - Jarred Arde, Drake

MF - Logan Miller, Central Arkansas

MF - Bryan Jantsch, Drake

D - Patrick Hodges, Evansville

D - Matt Taphorn, Central Arkansas

D - Grant Bell, Bradley

WC - Christian Okeke, Bradley (F)

WC - Mueng Sunday, Drake (MF)

WC - Taylor Hart, Central Arkansas (MF)



Honorable Mention

Brandon Besong, Missouri State (D)

Brian Bement, Loyola (F)

Justin Bilyeu, SIUE (D) -

Jason Coon, Bradley (D)

Emmerich Hoegg, Missouri State (MF)

Ryan Howe, Loyola (MF)

Luis Romero, Evansville (MF)


All-Freshman Team

Wes Carson, Central Arkansas (F)

Jack Griffin, Missouri State (MF)

Andrew Kendall-Moullin, SIUE (D)

Austin Ledbetter, SIUE (D)

Ben LeMay, Drake (MF)

Kirill Likhovid, Loyola (D)

Darrin MacLeod, Drake (GK)

Christian Okeke, Bradley (F)

Jared Robinson, Evansville (F)

Landon Souder, Evansville (MF)

Mueng Sunday, Drake (MF)

Official Store

    Watch Video