Trevor Spangenberg Wins 60th Virgil Cheek Athletic Achievement Award
Since graduating MSU, Spangenberg has made his professional soccer debut with MLS' Chivas USA.
Since graduating MSU, Spangenberg has made his professional soccer debut with MLS' Chivas USA.

May 15, 2014

Men's Soccer Page |Spangenberg Bio | Twitter

Soccer standout Trevor Spangenberg (Valparaiso, Ind.) was named as the winner of the 60th Annual Virgil Cheek Athletic Achievement Award, based on voting by the head coaches of MSU's six men's sports.

Spangenberg made his professional soccer debut with MLS' Chivas USA on May 3, 2014 when he also recorded his first pro save. The standout goalkeeper played every minute in goal for the Bears during the 2013 season, helping Missouri State to a Missouri Valley Conference regular-season title and nation-leading 0.41 goals-against average.

He was named All-MVC first team and was a two-time MVC Player of the Week while setting MVC and MSU records for fewest goals allowed in a season (8). He surrendered just one goal in Valley play (0.16 GAA), recorded 11 shutouts overall and became MSU's career leader in GAA (0.67). The NSCAA all-region selection also ranked No. 3 in the nation in 2013 in goals-against average (0.41).

Spangenberg overcame a massive lower leg break in the summer of 2012 that required multiple surgeries, skin grafts, and extensive physical rehabilitation just to be able to walk again. He overcame those obstacles through intense training, teaching himself to kick again and eventually to perform in goal at a higher level than before his injury. His story and leadership helped Coach Jon Leamy's Bears gain inspiration and improve from last place in the MVC in 2012 to a conference regular-season title and trip to the MVC Tournament championship game in 2013. He graduated in December of 2013 with a 3.0 GPA and a degree in Criminology.

The Virgil Cheek Award has been given annually since 1955 to the graduating senior male student-athlete best demonstrating high qualities in scholarship, character, attendance, leadership and athletic performance. The award is named in honor of the long-time Missouri State faculty athletics representative and business faculty member and selected by the six men's intercollegiate athletics head coaches.



Spangenberg is the fourth men's soccer player to win the award, and the third goalie. All four recipients have been coached by Leamy while at Missouri State.

Men's basketball standout Nathan Scheer, baseball pitcher Clay Murphy, and football kicker Austin Witmer were also finalists for this year's Virgil Cheek Award.

Past Virgil Cheek Award Recipients
1955    Jerry Anderson, basketball, track
1956    Ron Whitaker, football
1957    George Simpson, track
1958    Max Oldham, basketball
1959    Russ Robinson, basketball
1960    Charlie Finley, football, track
1961    Jerry Stockard, basketball
1962    Carl Wilks, basketball
1963    Edsel Matthews, basketball
1964    Rich Johanningmeier, football
1965    Jerry Boyer, football
1966    Dan Young, football
1967    Bill Douglass, football, track
1968    Dennis Scott, football
1969    Danny Cook, baseball
1970    Bill Lamberson, track
1971    Chuck Williams, basketball
1972    Bob Curl, basketball-track
1973    Eric Thompson, basketball
1974    Randy Magers, basketball, baseball
1975    Bob Grana, football
1976    Kent Stringer, football
1977    John Prasuhn, track, cross country
1978    Terry Kasper, football, baseball
1979    Ron Snider, baseball
1980    Mitch Ware, football
1981    Bobby Biser, golf
1982    Mark Daniels, football
1983    Darrin Newbold, football
1984    Anthony Boggs, basketball
1985    Brian Smith, basketball
1986    Phil Schlegel, basketball
1987    Scott Hickox, basketball
1988    Preston Estes, football
1989    Scott Hartwig, football
1990    Chris Stange, basketball
1991    Jeff Eiserman, golf
1992    Tim McDuffey, football
1993    Chad Lakin, baseball
1994    Jim Prendergast, wrestling
1995    Chad Gardner, cross country, track
1996    Dan Kneeshaw, football, baseball
1997    Brad Barnes, soccer
1998    Neal McNamara, tennis
1999    Derek Jensen, football
2000    Brad St. Louis, football
2001    Matt White, football
2002    Jason Ringena, football
2003    Blake Boldon, cross country, track
2004    Rishi Garbharran, tennis
2005    Brad Durham, football
2006    Nathan Platz, soccer
2007    Mike Radon, football
2008    David Tillman, football
2009    Chris Playter, baseball
2010    Justin Fuehrmeyer, basketball
2011    David Arkin, football
2012    Heath Melugin, soccer
2013    Daily Young, golf
2014    Trevor Spangenberg, soccer

Official Store

    Watch Video