Mather, Johnson Lead Men's Golf to Fifth at MVC Championship
Mitch Mather was named to the MVC All-Conference team after placing in a tie for fifth at the Men's Golf Championship.
Mitch Mather was named to the MVC All-Conference team after placing in a tie for fifth at the Men's Golf Championship.

April 29, 2014

Schedule | Roster | Twitter | Final Results

SILVIS, Ill. - Missouri State places fifth in the Missouri Valley Conference Men's Golf Championship after carding 311-296-298--905 in the 54-hole tournament.

All nine schools resumed second round play on Tuesday morning following lightning and rain that delayed Monday's competition.

"Our weather was nice today, the wind was completely opposite from yesterday so the golf course played very different," said head coach Neal Stafford. "We knew the forecast coming in so the guys were prepared for some stops and starts.  I thought we handled the delays pretty well.  We just got off to another bad start and put ourselves in the hole, but was proud of how we battled back this week."

Wichita State, as predicted by the coaches in the Valley's Pre-Championship Poll, won the conference title. The Shockers' 291-299-284--874 was three strokes lower than second place Illinois State's 297-294-286--877. Wichita State's team title is its 7th straight and a league-record 19th overall.

Bradley (305-291-301--897) placed third, just ahead of Northern Iowa (296-302-302--905). Missouri State placed better than Evansville (311-310-291--912), Drake (318-293-308--919), Southern Illinois (306-311-302--919), and Loyola (313-299-308--920).

A tiebreaker determined the individual champion. Illinois State's Tyler Gentilella (71-72-72--215) and Wichita State's Chandler Rusk (70-75-70--215) were tied following the tournament's three rounds. WSU's Rusk defeated ISU's Gentilella on the third playoff hole to win medalist honors. It marked the 2nd medalist playoff in the past four years.



Illinois State's Wils Hahn (72-77-67--216) was a stroke back of first and two ahead of Wichita State's Louis Cohen Boyer (75-75-68--218) who placed fourth.

Missouri State's Mitch Mather (72-76-73--221) finished in a three-way tie for fifth with Wichita State's Alec Heinen and Bradley's Danny Masrin (75-72-74--221).

Joey Johnson (78-71-75--224) earned his team-leading fourth top ten finish of the year after tying for 10th in the conference tournament.

Mark Karlsen (81-75-74--230), Nick Langley (82-74-76--232), and Eric Straub (80-76-77--233) round out the MSU golfers.

Immediately following the tournament the Missouri Valley Conference released the 2013-14 All-MVC selections and specialty award recipients. Mather's performance earned the sophomore a spot on the All-Conference team. Full individual award recipients are listed below.


2014 All-Conference

Louis Cohen Boyer, Wichita State
Parker Freiburg, Illinois State
Alex Turner, Evansville
Nick Dennis, Loyola
Chandler Rusk, Wichita State
Wils Hawn, Illinois State
Alec Heinen, Wichita State
Danny Masrin, Bradley
Mitch Mather, Missouri State
Tyler Gentilella, Illinois State


Elite 18 Winner - Alec Heinen, Wichita State

Newcomer of the Year - Grant Bennett, Wichita State

Golfer of the Year - Louis Cohen Boyer, Wichita State

Coach of the Year - Grier Jones, Wichita State

Official Store

    Watch Video