Schaffitzel Earns First-Team Academic All-America Recognition
Caleb Schaffitzel
Caleb Schaffitzel

Dec. 5, 2013

2013 Capital One Academic All-America Teams

TOWSON, Md. - Missouri State junior Caleb Schaffitzel (S, Fair Grove, Mo.) has been named to the Capital One Academic All-America Division I First Team, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced Thursday (Dec. 5).

Schaffitzel, a second-team Academic All-America selection as a sophomore in 2012, becomes the first MSU football player to be named a first-team Academic All-American since Steve Newbold in 1978 and just the third Bear ever to earn a spot on CoSIDA's top academic squad that includes representatives from both the FBS and FCS ranks, joining two-time honoree Kent Stringer (1973 and 1975).

Schaffitzel was announced as a first-team All-MVFC pick earlier this week for the second year in a row after pacing one of the strongest defensive units in the Missouri Valley Football Conference with a career-best 110 total tackles. The Bears' strong safety maintains a 3.92 GPA in wildlife conservation and management and also earned his second-straight MVFC All-Academic Team first-team laurel, as well as the Fall 2013 MVC Leadership and Service Award.

A finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award honoring the top defensive player in the Division I FCS ranks, Schaffitzel led the MVFC in interceptions (0.50) and finished second among all players in tackles (9.6) and passes defended (1.25) in league play, while recording his second consecutive season with over 100 total stops. Overall, he ranked second in the MVFC and 44th nationally in tackles (9.16) and shared the conference lead while ranking 30th nationally in interceptions (0.33). In addition to being named FCS Co-Defensive Back of the Year last season by the College Football Performance Awards, Schaffitzel was an AP All-America (3rd Team) and Sports Network All-America (3rd Team) selection.



Schaffitzel was joined on the 24-member first team by fellow MVFC standouts Zach Zenner (RB) and Jason Schneider (WR), both of South Dakota State. Additionally, Southern Illinois' Corey Boemer (OL) and Western Illinois' Jimmy Holtschlag (OL) were named to the second team.

Official Store

    Watch Video