Heaston Named to CFPA Freshman of the Year Watch List
Ryan Heaston
Ryan Heaston

Oct. 24, 2012

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Missouri State freshman running back Ryan Heaston (Cordova, Tenn.) was one of 30 NCAA Division I FCS players to be included on the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) 2012 National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List Wednesday.

Heaston was one of five Missouri Valley Football Conference freshmen selected for CFPA's list, joining Indiana State's Connor Underwood, UNI's Sawyer Kollmorgen, South Dakota State's T.J. Lally and Youngstown State's Andre Stubbs. Heaston was also previously named to The Sport's Network's Jerry Rice Award Watch List, which honors the national freshman of the year at the NCAA Division I FCS level.

Heaston, who has been sidelined the last two weeks due to injury, has been one of the top freshman running backs in the nation this season, gaining 415 yards on 81 carries (5.1 yards per carry) in six games. He is also the club's top all-purpose gainer with an average of 97.2 yards per game.

He posted back-to-back 100-yard rushing efforts -- both as a reserve -- with 126 yards on 22 carries against Southern Illinois (Sept. 22) and 148 yards on 20 carries at South Dakota State (Sept. 29). His five pass receptions and 183 all-purpose yards against No. 25 SDSU were both game highs. The redshirt freshman collected over 100 all-purpose yards in three straight contests, Sept. 15-29.

Heaston is just the fourth Missouri State freshman to collect multiple 100-yard rushing games in the same season, and his 148 ground yards at SDSU marked the highest single-game rushing total by an MSU rookie in the Division I era and second-highest ever for a Bear freshman.

The CFPA watch list represents a rough guide, highlighting freshmen whose performances merit recognition. Freshmen are not preemptively eliminated from consideration, and all players are eligible for weekly, annual, and career awards at their respective positions.

Previous FCS recipients include Old Dominion quarterback Taylor Heinicke (2011) and Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee (2010).



2012 FCS National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List:
Sean Price, Appalachian State Wide Receiver
Jacob Huesman, Chattanooga Quarterback
Mark Thomas, The Citadel Defensive Lineman
Jeff Williams, Delaware Linebacker
Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington Quarterback
Reese Hannon, Furman Quarterback
Ben McLane, Georgia State Quarterback
Kalif Raymond, Holy Cross Wide Receiver
Connor Underwood, Indiana State Linebacker
Kade Bell, Jacksonville Quarterback
Josh Woodrum, Liberty Quarterback
Ryan Heaston, Missouri State Running Back
Chris Lider, Montana Placekicker
Trent McKinney, Montana Quarterback
Elandon Roberts, Morgan State Linebacker
Brendon Riddick, Norfolk State Running Back
Jameer Jackson, North Dakota Wide Receiver
Sawyer Kollmorgen, Northern Iowa Quarterback
Keiran McDonagh, Portland State Quarterback
Johntá Hebert, Prairie View A&M Running Back
Bryson Brindle, Presbyterian Defensive Lineman
T.J. Lally, South Dakota State Linebacker
Scott Lathrop, Southeast Missouri State Quarterback
James Cowser, Southern Utah Defensive Lineman
D.J. Ward, Stephen F. Austin Wide Receiver
Telvin Hooks, Tennessee State Running Back
Ladarius Vanlier, Tennessee Tech Running Back
John Robertson, Villanova Quarterback
Spearman Robinson, Western Carolina Wide Receiver
Andre Stubbs, Youngstown State Wide Receiver

Official Store

    Watch Video