MSU Football Players Earn Academic Laurels

June 17, 2014

MVFC Honor Roll Release


ST. LOUIS - A total of 25 Missouri State University football players were honored by the Missouri Valley Football Conference today (June 17) with the announcement of the league's annual Honor Roll class.  

 To qualify for the Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have recorded a minimum 3.0 grade point average for a specified term (Fall 2013), must have been a member of the football team, and must have a minimum of 12 hours of enrollment during the fall.

 Seven MSU players - Andrew Beisel, Dylan Cole, Greg Coopwood, Jake Lasater, Matt Miller, Caleb Schaffitzel and Matt Swan -- were also selected for the Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award. This honor requires a minimum GPA of 3.2 for the previous two semesters, and freshmen are not eligible.

 Finally, three Bears - Schaffitzel, Matt Thayer and Austin Witmer - were presented the President's Council Academic Excellence Award which requires a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average (through Fall 2013 semester) and participation in athletics a minimum of two years. The student-athletes must be within 18 hours of graduation. Just 22 players in the 10-team league were recognized on the President's Council list.



 "I'm extremely proud of these young men for what they have achieved on the field and in the classroom," said ninth-year head coach Terry Allen. "They are establishing themselves as leaders and maintaining a high standard for our program."

 A complete list of 2013-14 Missouri State award recipients is below.



PRESIDENTS COUNCIL ACADEMIC AWARD -- Caleb Schaffitzel; Matt Thayer; Austin Witmer.

COMMISSIONER'S ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARD - Andrew Beisel; Dylan Cole; Greg Coopwood; Jake Lasater; Matt Miller; Caleb Schaffitzel; Matt Swan.

HONOR ROLL - James Barnes; Andrew Beisel; Patrick Blanar; Robert Booker; Chris Cacciarelli; Gus Carter; Dylan Cole; Zack Cooley; Mikael Cooper-Falls; Greg Coopwood; Tevan Ferguson; Erik Furmanek; Ashton Glaser; Shelby Harris; Hunter Hays; Ben Howard; Elgie Hurd; Adam Judnich; Jake Lasater; Josh Mattes; Matt Miller; Jeremiah Plowden; Caleb Schaffitzel; Chris Sul­lens; Austin Witmer.

Official Store

    Watch Video