Nineteen MSU Football Players Recognized by Conference for Academic Excellence
Jordan Chiles
Jordan Chiles

May 18, 2012

ST. LOUIS -- A total of 19 Missouri State football players were recognized by the Missouri Valley Football Conference today (May 18) for achieving the league's highest academic achievement.

Jordan Chiles (Sr., Hillsboro, Ill.) headlines the list of MSU players who have excelled in the classroom during the 2011-12 school year. The All-MVFC honorable mention punter was one of 17 players across the league to earn the MVFC Presidents' Council Academic Excellence Award, presented to players with a 3.5 cumulative grade point average and within 18 hours of degree completion. Chiles was named to the MVFC All-Academic first team at the conclusion of the season and ranked fifth in the conference and 31st nationally in punting average (40.60) his senior season.

Eight MSU players landed on the Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award List, presented to student-athletes with at least a 3.2 grade-point average over the last two semesters. Missouri State players joining Chiles on this exclusive list are Hunter Hays (Fr., LS, Clinton, Mo.), Caleb Schaffitzel (Fr., S, Fair Grove, Mo.), Geoff Stanford (Fr., ILB, Wichita, Kan.), Austin Witmer (Jr., PK, Grand Island, Neb.), Mitchell Jenkins (So., QB, Springfield, Mo.), Andrew Beisel (Fr., ILB, Fenton, Mo.) and Wes Stammers (Sr., S, Owensville, Mo.). Like Chiles, Witmer was also on the 2011 MVFC All-Academic Team as an honorable mention selection.



Lastly, 19 Bears landed on the MVFC Honor Roll, which requires a 3.0 GPA for the fall 2011 semester with at least 12 credit hours. In addition to Chiles and Witmer, fellow MVFC All-Academic Team (second-team) selection Matt Thayer (Jr., TE, Bellevue, Neb.) made the MFVC Honor Roll along with Hays, Schaffitzel, Stanford, Jenkins, Beisel and Stammers. Joining these nine standouts on the Honor Roll list are: Jake Lasater (Fr., OT, St. Charles, Mo.), James McDonald (Fr., DE, Blue Springs, Mo.), Jake Arthur (Fr., OL, Eldridge, Iowa), Daniel Wood (Fr., TE, Mena, Ark.), Matt Swan (So., TE, Springfield, Mo.), Eric Christophel (Fr., WR, Nixa, Mo.), Andrew Jordan (Fr., ILB, Nixa, Mo.), Ian Starnes (Sr., WR, Springfield, Mo.), Kurt Kutter (So., OG, O'Fallon, Mo.) and David Ingram (Sr., ILB, Siloam Springs, Ark.).

Missouri State will return 23 players this fall with starting experience from last season and 35 lettermen in all. MSU will begin the 2012 campaign on Sept. 1 at Kansas State and will have five home games on slate this fall, including the Sept. 15 home opener against Murray State under the lights at Plaster Field. 

Season ticket information is available now by calling (417) 836-7678 or visiting the Chevy Pickup Window at JQH Arena during regular office hours.




Official Store

    Watch Video