Downing Takes Home Top Honors at Men's Basketball Banquet
Senior Anthony Downing
Senior Anthony Downing

May 9, 2013

SPRINGFIELD -- Missouri State's only true senior, Anthony Downing (G, Atchison, Kan.) was the top award recipient Thursday (May 9) at the Bears' annual men's basketball season-end awards banquet, held at the Ramada Inn Oasis Convention Center in Springfield.  In addition to a pair of team awards and conference recognition, Downing was presented with the prestigious Coors Player of the Year and Guy Thompson Awards.

The Coors Player of the Year Award has been given annually since 1982-83, the year Bears athletics moved to NCAA Division I.  The award is jointly sponsored by Coors of the Ozarks and the Adolph Coors Company of Golden, Colo.  The award carries with it a $1,500 scholarship to the Missouri State general scholarship fund in each sport in the name of the winner. Coors also sponsors Player of the Week honors. The weekly and yearly selections are selected by representatives of Missouri State media outlets.

The Guy Thompson Award is presented annually to the men's basketball senior player who demonstrates outstanding character, leadership, athleticism and academic success.  The Thompson Award is named in honor of the former MSU registrar and long-time basketball public address announcer.

Downing was one of only two players in the nation, along with San Diego State's Jamaal Franklin, to lead his club in scoring average, total rebounds, assists and steals. He avearged 13.7 points per game in 2012-13, made 80 percent of his free throws and was among the league leaders in a number of statistical categories. His 822 career points in two seasons at MSU rank second all-time in program history.

Conference award winners Downing, Marcus Marshall (Fr., G, St. Paul, Minn.), Nathan Scheer (Jr., G/F, Washington, Mo.) and Christian Kirk (So., F, Springfield, Mo.) were also honored and presented certificates from the Missouri Valley Conference office. Downing was an All-MVC honorable mention selection, while Marshall earned MVC All-Newcomer Team, All-Freshman Team and Freshman of the Year distinction. Scheer was on the MVC All-Bench Team and was an Academic All-MVC first-teamer, while Kirk was an Academic All-MVC second-team pick.

Other team awards presented were:  Assists Award: Anthony Downing; Rebound Award: Anthony Downing; Play Hard Award: Keith Pickens (Jr., G, St. Louis, Mo.); and Most Improved Award: Christian Kirk.

The MSU Coors Players of the Week were also recognized for their contributions this season as follows.  

2012-13 Coors Players of the Week     
Nov. 4    Philander Smith    Gavin Thurman
Nov. 11    San Diego State    Anthony Downing
Nov. 18    Jacksonville, Malone, S.C.    Marcus Marshall
Nov. 25    SMU, Oral Roberts    Anthony Downing
Dec. 2    Tulsa, Oklahoma State    Christian Kirk
Dec. 9    Valparaiso    Marcus Marshall
Dec. 16    Ala. A&M, New Mexico St.    Gavin Thurman
Dec. 23    Southern Ill.    Nathan Scheer
Dec. 30    Evansville, Drake    Anthony Downing
Jan. 6    Illinois St., Creighton    Anthony Downing
Jan. 13    Indiana St., Bradley    Gavin Thurman
Jan. 20    Wichita State    Gavin Thurman
Jan. 27    Drake, Creighton, Evansville    Keith Pickens
Feb. 3    UNI, Wichita State    Marcus Marshall
Feb. 10    Indiana St., SIU    Christian Kirk
Feb. 17    UNI, Eastern Mich.    Marcus Marshall
Feb. 24    Illinois St., Bradley    Anthony Downing
Mar. 3    Southern Ill., Wichita St    Marcus Marshall

Missouri State wrapped its 2012-13 campaign with a loss to eventual Final Four participant Wichita State in the MVC Tournament quarterfinals after it claimed six wins over its previous 12 games. The Bears were also 8-7 at JQH Arena this winter to secure a winning home record for the 42nd straight year. MSU tied for seventh place in the 10-team Valley race after being picked eighth in the league preseason poll.  Including senior Jarmar Gulley, the Bears have a group of eight lettermen slated to return this fall along with five newcomers.


Coors Players of the Year
1983 Ricky Johnson
1984 Chris Scott
1985 Brian Smith-Randy Stange
1986 Winston Garland
1987 Winston Garland
1988 Stan Worthy
1989 Hubert Henderson, Kelby Stuckey
1990 Lee Campbell
1991 Arnold Bernard
1992 Jackie Crawford
1993 Johnny Murdock
1994 Johnny Murdock
1995 Johnny Murdock
1996 Johnny Epps, Robert Wilkerson
1997 Danny Moore
1998 Kevin Ault, Ben Kandlbinder
1999 Danny Moore
2000 Kevin Ault, Allen Phillips
2001 Mike Wallace
2002 Scott Brakebill, Terrance McGee
2003 Terrance McGee
2004 Merrill Andrews
2005 Tamarr Maclin
2006 Blake Ahearn
2007 Blake Ahearn
2008 Dale Lamberth, Deven Mitchell
2009 Chris Cooks
2010 Adam Leonard
2011 Kyle Weems
2012 Kyle Weems
2013 Anthony Downing

Guy Thompson Award Recipients
1969 Mert Bancroft
1971 Chuck Williams
1972 Bob Curl
1973 Eric Thompson
1974 Randy Magers
1976 Daryel Garrison
1978 Jimmie Dull
1980 Larry Lewis
1981 Ed Liliensiek
1982 Mark Lance
1983 Ricky Johnson
1984 Anthony Boggs
1985 Brian Smith
1986 Phil Schlegel
1987 Scott Hickox
1988 Stan Worthy
1989 Kelby Stuckey
1990 Chris Stange
1991 David Brewer
1992 Andre Rigsby
1993 Dale Ribble
1994 Tom Schellemans
1995 Clint Thomas
1996 Monte Marsh
1997 Coleco Buie
1998 Ben Kandlbinder
1999 Danny Moore
2000 Eric Judd
2001 Matt Rueter
2002 Scott Brakebill
2003 Jason Gilbert
2004 Monwell Randle
2005 Trevyor Fisher
2006 Kellen Easley
2007 Tyler Chaney
2008 Drew Richards
2009 Spencer Laurie
2010 Justin Fuehrmeyer
2011 Jermaine Mallett
2012 Isaiah Rhine
2013 Anthony Downing



Official Store

    Watch Video