Weems Earns Coors Player of the Year at Bears Postseason Awards Banquet

April 9, 2012

SPRINGFIELD -- For just the sixth time in Missouri State's Division I era, the recipient of the team's player of the year honor is a repeat winner.  Senior Kyle Weems, who led the Bears in scoring and rebounding this season while earning All-MVC first-team honors, was announced as MSU's Coors Player of the Year on Monday evening (April 9) at University Plaza at the team's annual awards banquet.

Weems joins fellow multiple winners Winston Garland (1986-87), Johnny Murdock (1993-94-95), Danny Moore (1997, 99), Kevin Ault (1998, 2000), and Blake Ahearn (2006-07) on the list of the program's all-time greats.

The Coors award has been given annually since 1982-83, the year Bears athletics moved to NCAA Division I.  The award is jointly sponsored by Coors of the Ozarks and the Adolph Coors Company of Golden, Colo.  The award carries with it a $1,500 scholarship to the Missouri State general scholarship fund in each sport in the name of the winner. Coors also sponsors Player of the Week honors. The weekly and yearly selections are selected by representatives of Missouri State media outlets.

The Topeka, Kan., native finished No. 2 on the Missouri State career scoring list (1,868) and tops in program history in games played (134) and double-figure scoring games (110). He also finished among the Bears' all-time top five performers in rebounds (844), minutes (3,981), field goals (681), field goal attempts (1,550), three-pointers (240), three-point attempts (641), blocked shots (114) and steals (146). He is the only player in Missouri Valley Conference history to score 1,800 points, collect 800 rebounds and hit 200 three-pointers. He was a six-time MVC Player of the Week, 24-time Coors Player of the Week, and three-time all-conference honoree.  

Also Monday, senior Isaiah Rhine (C, Versailles, Mo.) was selected as the 2011-12 recipient of the Guy Thompson Award.  The award is presented annually to the men's basketball senior player who demonstrates outstanding character, leadership, athleticism and academic success.  The Thompson Award is given in honor of former MSU registrar and long-time basketball public address announcer Guy Thompson.

Rhine earned MVC Scholar-Athlete second team honors this season after playing 27 games, including two starts. His 55 points this season was a career best for a season, and he played in 105 career games during his four seasons at MSU.   

Conference award winners Weems, Rhine, Anthony Downing (Jr., Atchison, Kan.), Caleb Patterson (Sr., Ames, Okla.), Nathan Scheer (So., Washington, Mo.), Michael Bizoukas (Sr., Munster, Ind.) and Jarmar Gulley (Jr., Beaumont, Texas) were also honored and presented certificates from the Missouri Valley Conference office.  

Weems was named to the All-MVC first team and claimed MVC Player of the Week once this season. Including an All-MVC second-team honor as a sophomore, Weems became a three-time all-conference pick.

Rhine and Scheer were both named to the MVC Scholar-Athlete second team, while Patterson landed a spot on the MVC Most-Improved Team. Downing was a four-time MVC Newcomer of the Week and earned MVC All-Newcomer distinction, while Bizoukas and Gulley each claimed MVC Newcomer of the Week honors twice each.

Other team awards presented were:  Assists Award: Michael Bizoukas; Rebound Award: Kyle Weems; and Charges Taken Award: Keith Pickens.

The MSU Coors Players of the Week were also recognized for their contributions this season as follows.  

2011-12 Coors Players of the Week
Nov. 6, 2011 at Nevada Caleb Patterson
Nov. 13, 2011 at Arkansas State, Emporia State Michael Bizoukas
Nov. 20, 2011 Tulsa Caleb Patterson
Nov. 27, 2011 at Oral Roberts, at New Mexico Jarmar Gulley
Dec. 4, 2011 Oklahoma State, at UALR Kyle Weems
Dec. 11, 2011 Kennesaw State Kyle Weems
Dec. 18, 2011 TAMCC, vs. West Virginia, vs. St. Mary's Caleb Patterson
Dec. 25, 2011 at Creighton, Drake Kyle Weems
Jan. 1, 2012 Illinois State, at Indiana State Michael Bizoukas
Jan. 8, 2012 Southern Illinois, at UNI Caleb Patterson
Jan. 15, 2012 Evansville, Creighton, at Bradley Kyle Weems
Jan. 22, 2012 at Illinois State, UNI Anthony Downing
Jan. 29, 2012 Wichita State, at Drake Kyle Weems
Feb. 5, 2012 at Southern Illinois Keith Pickens
Feb. 12, 2012 Bradley, at Wichita State, Old Dominion Anthony Downing
Feb. 29, 2012 Indiana St., at Evansville Jarmar Gulley
March 2, 2012 vs. Evansville Kyle Weems



The Bears, who finished 16-16 overall and tied for third place in the Missouri Valley Conference this season, are expected to return five lettermen -- all with starting experience this season -- and 49 percent of their scoring for the 2012-13 campaign.


Coors Players of the Year
1983 Ricky Johnson
1984 Chris Scott
1985 Brian Smith-Randy Stange
1986 Winston Garland
1987 Winston Garland
1988 Stan Worthy
1989 Hubert Henderson, Kelby Stuckey
1990 Lee Campbell
1991 Arnold Bernard
1992 Jackie Crawford
1993 Johnny Murdock
1994 Johnny Murdock
1995 Johnny Murdock
1996 Johnny Epps, Robert Wilkerson
1997 Danny Moore
1998 Kevin Ault, Ben Kandlbinder
1999 Danny Moore
2000 Kevin Ault, Allen Phillips
2001 Mike Wallace
2002 Scott Brakebill, Terrance McGee
2003 Terrance McGee
2004 Merrill Andrews
2005 Tamarr Maclin
2006 Blake Ahearn
2007 Blake Ahearn
2008 Dale Lamberth, Deven Mitchell
2009 Chris Cooks
2010 Adam Leonard
2011 Kyle Weems
2012 Kyle Weems

Guy Thompson Award Recipients
1969 Mert Bancroft
1971 Chuck Williams
1972 Bob Curl
1973 Eric Thompson
1974 Randy Magers
1976 Daryel Garrison
1978 Jimmie Dull
1980 Larry Lewis
1981 Ed Liliensiek
1982 Mark Lance
1983 Ricky Johnson
1984 Anthony Boggs
1985 Brian Smith
1986 Phil Schlegel
1987 Scott Hickox
1988 Stan Worthy
1989 Kelby Stuckey
1990 Chris Stange
1991 David Brewer
1992 Andre Rigsby
1993  Dale Ribble
1994 Tom Schellemans
1995 Clint Thomas
1996 Monte Marsh
1997 Coleco Buie
1998 Ben Kandlbinder
1999 Danny Moore
2000 Eric Judd
2001 Matt Rueter
2002 Scott Brakebill
2003 Jason Gilbert
2004 Monwell Randle
2005 Trevyor Fisher
2006 Kellen Easley
2007 Tyler Chaney
2008 Drew Richards
2009 Spencer Laurie
2010 Justin Fuehrmeyer
2011 Jermaine Mallett
2012 Isaiah Rhine

Official Store

    Watch Video