Gulley and Pickens Earn Top Honors at MSU Awards Banquet
Sr., F, Jarmar Gulley
Sr., F, Jarmar Gulley

March 30, 2014

SPRINGFIELD -- Seniors Jarmar Gulley (F, Beaumont, Texas) and Keith Pickens (G/F, St. Louis, Mo.) were the top award recipients Sunday (March 30) at the annual Missouri State University men's basketball awards banquet, held at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Springfield. Gulley was presented with the Coors Player of the Year Award, while Pickens was selected as this year’s Guy Thompson Award recipient.

The Coors Player of the Year Award is sponsored by Heart of America Beverage and carries with it a $1,500 scholarship to the Missouri State general scholarship fund in the name of the winner. Coors is also the title sponsor of the MSU Player of the Week honors. The weekly and yearly selections are selected by representatives of Missouri State media outlets.

 Gulley ranked among the Missouri Valley Conference leaders in three categories this season, finishing fourth in the MVC in rebounding (6.4), fifth in steals (1.6) and ninth in scoring (14.4). His six double-doubles tied for third in the league, and he led the Bears in seven statistical categories. He earned Coors Player of the Week honors a team-high six times this season.

 The Guy Thompson Award is presented annually to the men's basketball senior player who demonstrates outstanding character, leadership, athleticism and academic success.  The award is named in honor of the former MSU registrar and long-time basketball public address announcer. Pickens earned his degree in Sports Administration last August and returned to the club as a walk-on player for his senior campaign. His tenacity and ability to overcome multiple injuries helped him garner a league-wide reputation as one of the toughest players in the MVC.



 Conference award winners Gulley, Austin Ruder (Fr., G, Nixa, Mo.), Ron Mvouika (Jr., G/F, Paris, France) and Nathan Scheer (Sr., G/F, Washington, Mo.) were also honored and presented certificates from the Missouri Valley Conference office.

 Gulley was an All-MVC second-team selection as well as the league's Player of the Week on Jan. 13. Ruder earned a spot on the MVC's All-Freshman Team after being named MVC Newcomer of the Week on Feb. 13, while Mvouika also earned MVC Newcomer of the Week honors on Jan. 20. Scheer was named as an MVC Scholar-Athlete first-teamer for the second year in a row and became just the fourth MSU player to land a spot on the MVC's academic all-conference team three straight years.

 Other team awards presented were:  Assists Award: Dorrian Williams; Rebound Award: Jarmar Gulley; Play Hard Award: Keith Pickens; Academic Player of the Year: Nathan Scheer; and Most Improved Award: Dorrian Williams.

 The MSU Coors Players of the Week were also recognized for their contributions this season as follows: 

Week of



Nov. 3

at Old Dominion

Jarmar Gulley

Nov. 10


Dorrian Williams

Nov. 17


Emmanuel Addo

Nov. 24

Hampt. , Liberty, TAMU, UVA

Austin Ruder

Dec. 1


Ron Mvouika

Dec. 8

at Oral Roberts

Marcus Marshall

Dec. 15

at Louisville, Alabama A&M

Keith Pickens

Dec. 29

SEMO, Illinois State

Jarmar Gulley

Jan. 5

at Loyola, at BU, Wichita

Jarmar Gulley

Jan. 12

at Indiana St., at UNI

Ron Mvouika

Jan. 19

Evansville, SIU

Jarmar Gulley

Jan. 26

at Drake, Bradley

Austin Ruder

Feb. 2

at Evansville, at SIU

Devon Thomas

Feb. 9

Drake, UNI

Keith Pickens

Feb. 16

at Illinois St., Indiana St.

Jarmar Gulley

Feb. 23

Loyola, at Wichita

Christian Kirk

Mar. 2

vs. Illinois State, Wichita

Austin Ruder

Mar. 17

Murray State

Jarmar Gulley

Coors Players of the Year

1983 Ricky Johnson
1984 Chris Scott
1985 Brian Smith-Randy Stange
1986 Winston Garland
1987 Winston Garland
1988 Stan Worthy
1989 Hubert Henderson, Kelby Stuckey
1990 Lee Campbell
1991 Arnold Bernard
1992 Jackie Crawford
1993 Johnny Murdock
1994 Johnny Murdock
1995 Johnny Murdock
1996 Johnny Epps, Robert Wilkerson
1997 Danny Moore
1998 Kevin Ault, Ben Kandlbinder
1999 Danny Moore
2000 Kevin Ault, Allen Phillips
2001 Mike Wallace
2002 Scott Brakebill, Terrance McGee
2003 Terrance McGee
2004 Merrill Andrews
2005 Tamarr Maclin
2006 Blake Ahearn
2007 Blake Ahearn
2008 Dale Lamberth, Deven Mitchell
2009 Chris Cooks
2010 Adam Leonard
2011 Kyle Weems
2012 Kyle Weems
2013 Anthony Downing
2014 Jarmar Gulley

Guy Thompson Award Recipients

1969 Mert Bancroft
1971 Chuck Williams
1972 Bob Curl
1973 Eric Thompson
1974 Randy Magers
1976 Daryel Garrison
1978 Jimmie Dull
1980 Larry Lewis
1981 Ed Liliensiek
1982 Mark Lance
1983 Ricky Johnson
1984 Anthony Boggs
1985 Brian Smith
1986 Phil Schlegel
1987 Scott Hickox
1988 Stan Worthy
1989 Kelby Stuckey
1990 Chris Stange
1991 David Brewer
1992 Andre Rigsby
1993 Dale Ribble
1994 Tom Schellemans
1995 Clint Thomas
1996 Monte Marsh
1997 Coleco Buie
1998 Ben Kandlbinder
1999 Danny Moore
2000 Eric Judd
2001 Matt Rueter
2002 Scott Brakebill
2003 Jason Gilbert
2004 Monwell Randle
2005 Trevyor Fisher
2006 Kellen Easley
2007 Tyler Chaney
2008 Drew Richards
2009 Spencer Laurie
2010 Justin Fuehrmeyer
2011 Jermaine Mallett
2012 Isaiah Rhine
2013 Anthony Downing
2014 Keith Pickens

Official Store

    Watch Video