Seifert Named First-Team MVC Scholar-Athlete
Brent Seifert
Brent Seifert

June 7, 2012

Missouri Valley Conference Baseball Scholar-Athlete Teams

ST. LOUIS - Missouri State senior Brent Seifert has been named to the Missouri Valley Conference Baseball Scholar-Athlete Team, released Thursday by the conference office. Seifert, who was named a First-Team MVC Scholar-Athlete for the second straight year, was one of 24 Valley players honored by the MVC's sports information directors for their work on the field and in the classroom.

Seifert started all 62 games this season for Missouri State hitting .275 and clubbing five home runs to earn Second-Team All-MVC honors at third base to help the Bears earn their first NCAA Regional berth since 2003. A 2012 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-District selection, Seifert was one of Missouri State's top run-producers throughout his career, sharing the team lead with 46 RBIs, while finishing second on the club with 42 runs scored this season. The Cameron, Mo., product drove in the game-winning run a club-best eight times in 2012 and ranked among the MVC's individual leaders in walks (second), doubles (sixth) and RBIs (sixth).

Seifert, who maintains a 3.63 grade-point average as a physical education major, concluded his Missouri State career with a .282 batting mark to go along with 14 homers and 89 RBIs over 118 games.

To qualify for consideration for the MVC Scholar-Athlete Team, players must have a minimum 3.20 grade-point average and be a starter or key reserve. The team is voted on each year by the league's 10 sports information directors.

2012 MVC Scholar-Athlete Teams
First Team
Ty Blach, Creighton
Trentt Copeland, Evansville
Kevin Hall, Wichita State
Jon Hedges, Indiana State
Chad Hinshaw, Illinois State
Jason Hockemeyer, Evansville
Nick Judkins, Creighton
James Kohler, Evansville
Koby Kraemer, Indiana State
Jeremy Lucas, Indiana State
Austin Montgomery, Southern Illinois
Brent Seifert, Missouri State



Honorable Mention
Eric Aguilera, Illinois State
Brian Bajer, Southern Illinois
Kyle Burnam, Indiana State
Tyler Dray, Southern Illinois
Donny Duschinsky, Southern Illinois
Todd Eaton, Southern Illinois
Reggie Hochstedler, Indiana State
Chance Ross, Creighton
Josh Smith, Wichita State
Alex Staehely, Creighton
Mike Tauchman, Bradley
Chase Webb, Creighton

Official Store

    Watch Video