Voit Named to Johnny Bench Award Watch List
Luke Voit
Luke Voit

March 11, 2013

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - For the second straight year Missouri State senior Luke Voit has been named to the official watch list for the Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com, the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced Monday. Voit is one of 48 Division I catchers under consideration for the award, which will be presented June 27 in Wichita.

The lone Missouri Valley Conference catcher named to this year's watch list, Voit is currently second on the Bears with a .345 batting average and nine runs batted-in. Voit, a preseason all-conference pick in 2013, leads MSU with two stolen bases and has a .992 fielding percentage while starting 12 of the team's 13 games behind the plate. Last year, the Wildwood, Mo., product batted .298 with six home runs, a team-high 46 RBIs and a career-best nine steals to earn his second-straight All-MVC selection.

Additional nominations for the award, which honors the top Division I player who serves as a team's starting catcher in at least 75% of its games, will be considered until May 6, with semifinalists announced on May 16, and finalists revealed on June 4

Off to a 10-3 start to the 2013 season, Missouri State hits the road for a two-game midweek series with Arkansas State. The Bears and Red Wolves will square off at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday (March 12) and again at 3 p.m. Wednesday (March 13) at Kell Field in Jonesboro, Ark.

2013 Johnny Bench Award Watch List
Blake Austin, Auburn
Brett Austin, NC State
Dan Bethea, St. John's
Austin Bossart, Penn
Ryan Breen, UCF
Garrett Custons, Air Force
Mike Danaher, Binghamton
Blair DeBord, Kansas State
Brian Dixon, New Orleans
Kaiana Eldredge, Kansas
Zane Evans, Georgia Tech
Drew Farber, UNC Wilmington
Jacob Felts, Texas
Aramis Garcia, Florida International
Mitchell Garver, New Mexico
Kyle Gibson, Louisville
Grayson Greiner, South Carolina
Radley Haddad, Butler
Chris Hoo, Cal Poly
Nate Irving, Virginia
Blake Johnson, UALR
Jose Longoria, Grambling
Adam Martin, Western Carolina
Stephen McGee, Florida State
Riley Moore, Arizona
Spencer Navin, Vanderbilt
Grant Nelson, Saint Louis
Ramon Ortega, Manhattan
Matt Paré, Boston College
Jordan Parris, Tennessee Tech
Colton Plaia, Loyola Marymount
Jake Rodriguez, Oregon State
Tyler Ross, LSU
Tanner Rust, New Mexico State
Scott Sarratt, Georgia State
Brandon Schott, UMES
Kyle Schwarber, Indiana
Ronnie Shaeffer, UC Irvine
Adam Sonabend, Eastern Michigan
Elvin Soto, Pittsburgh
Michael Spano, Florida Atlantic
Andrew Stumph, Texas State
Alex Swim, Elon
Stuart Turner, Ole Miss
Luke Voit, Missouri State
Matt Winn, VMI
Jake Wise, Arkansas
Mack Zagunis, Virginia Tech



Official Store

    Watch Video