Seven Bears Named to 2013 MVC Scholar-Athlete Team
Senior Kaylee Steffen
Senior Kaylee Steffen

March 4, 2013

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Following an unprecedented sixth straight conference championship, the Missouri State women’s swimming & diving program continue to bring in additional honors. The Bears placed seven student-athletes on the 2013 Missouri Valley Conference Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete team, the league announced Monday (March 4).

In all, 52 student-athletes qualified for the award with three averaging a perfect 4.0 grade-point average and 22 who had a GPA above 3.8. Illinois State claimed the most spots with 14, while Missouri State landed seven representatives on the Scholar-Athlete team.

Earning MVC Scholar-Athlete honors for the Bears were senior Kaylee Steffen, juniors Lindsey Conway, Janke Engelbrecht and Renata Sander, and sophomores Roni Balzam, Megan Holthoff and Alyssa Powers.

Senior Kaylee Steffen, an elementary education major, earned the MVC academic award for the third time in as many seasons. The three-time All-MVC honorable mention selection has been successful in and out of the water as she has made the MSU Athletics Director’s Honor Roll in each semester on campus.

Juniors Lindsey Conway and Janke Engelbrecht made the Scholar-Athlete team for the second year in a row, while this year’s co-MVC Swimmer of the Year Renata Sander collected another honor with the first MVC Scholar-Athlete nod of her career.

The sophomore trio of Roni Balzam, Megan Holthoff and Alyssa Powers, which earned All-MVC first team honors, also picked up Scholar-Athlete accolades in their first season eligible for the award.

To be eligible for the MVC Scholar-Athlete award, athletes must be a sophomore and maintain either a 3.2 GPA and obtain all-conference honors, a 3.5 GPA and a top-16 finish at the conference championships, or a 3.8 GPA and participation in the MVC Championship.

Complete MVC Release



Official Store

    Watch Video