TCU Tops Missouri State Swimming Teams



Missouri State's men's and women's swimming and diving teams fell to TCU Saturday in Ft. Worth, Texas. The men lost their side of the meet 73-39 and the women lost 77-36.

Senior freestyler Liz Geisler was the highlight for the MSU women, winning the 1,000-yard freestyle in 10:22.98. Geisler also swam to first place in the 500-yard freestyle, finishing the race in 5:08.41. She took a third-place finish in the 200-yard freestyle (1:55.35).

MSU's Francy Palma was the winner in the 200-yard backstroke event, touching the wall in 2:06.35. Palma was also the second leg of the first-place 400-yard freestyle relay (3:37.50).

Stacey Arkovich placed second in both diving competitions for the Bears, with 241.50 points on the one-meter board and 259.95 points on the three-meter board. Lindsey Tuttle finshed third on the three-meter diving board for the Bears, with 213.60 points.

On the men's side of the meet, Victor Serra earned the first win for the Bears in the 200-yard butterfly, swimming the race in 1:51.00. Matt Beasley was a winner for Missouri State in the 500-yard freestyle (4:39.41) and also took a second-place finish in the 200-yard freestyle (1:40.15).

MSU's Seth Johnson swam a time of 2:07.66 in the 200-yard breaststroke, earning him the first-place win. Greg Temple of Missouri State finished the race right behind him in 2:08.46. Johnson also added a second-place finish in the 200-yard IM, finishing the race in 1:56.50.

Missouri State University's swimming and diving teams will be back in action Saturday, Feb. 4, at 2 p.m., to compete against Webster University at Hammons Student Center pool for the last home meet of the season.



Official Store

    Watch Video