Bears Top Lindenwood, Missouri S&T on Senior Day
Senior Lindsey Conway
Senior Lindsey Conway

Jan. 25, 2014

Complete Results

SPRINGFIELD - The Missouri State swimming & diving team swept duals from Lindenwood and Missouri S&T on Senior Day at Hammons Student Center Pool Saturday.

The Bears topped the Lindenwood men, 166-70, and women, 170-80, and the Missouri S&T men, 166-62, while winning 22 events. The victories improve MSU to 11-0 against the Lindenwood men and women, respectively, and 28-10 versus Missouri S&T.

The MSU men claimed 12 events led by juniors Vitalii Baryshok and Paul Le, who each earned three victories apiece.

Divers Zach Wheeler and Lindsey Conway each won the 1-meter competition, smashing their career bests in the event on the way to qualifying for NCAA Zone D Championships on March 10-12 in Minneapolis, Minn. Wheeler posted 323.85 points for the win and Conway scored 282.82.

It marks the first time that Wheeler has broken the 300-point barrier in his career. His previous best with 285.45, set against Evansville on Nov. 1. Conway's career best was 264.10 at the 2013 Missouri Valley Conference Championships on Feb. 14.

Missouri State began the day winning the first four events. Anna Ahlin, Renata Sander, Roni Balzam and Shannon Myer (3:53.45) for the women and Le, Isaac Springer, Baryshok and Uvis Kalnins (3:18.05) for the men took the 400-yard medley relays.



Sophomore Heather Snyder (10:22.68) and freshman Naresh Naik (9:32.82) then claimed the 1,000 freestyles.

The Bears also swept the 50 free with Kate Gately and Le doing the honors. Gately went 24.14 to earn the first of her two victories (100 free in 52.53, the other). Le swam 20.36, just a hundredth of a second from tying his own Hammons Pool record. Six more Bears won multiple events, including Sander, Ahlin, Kalnins, Matthew Wilson and Caleb Schuermann.

During the second diving break of the competition, MSU honored its 12 graduating seniors - Michal Bulak, Yuri Garanito, Colin Hill, Jared Roberts, Ahlin, Balzam, Conway, Janke Engelbrecht, Paige Koebbe, Hannah Molden, Glory Reichard and Sander - for their contributions to the program. The group has been part of three straight MVC titles on the women's side.

The men's team returns to action next Friday and Saturday at Shamrock Invitational, hosted by Notre Dame. The Bears will take on the Irish on Friday and Iowa and Incarnate Word Saturday.

The women will now begin to gear up the Valley championships in Carbondale, Ill., Feb. 13-15.

Official Store

    Watch Video