Eight Set for Induction Into Missouri State University Athletics Hall of Fame

Dec. 13, 2012

MSU Hall of Fame Interactive Page  |  2012 Class Review  |  2013 Inductee Bios

SPRINGFIELD -- Six standout student-athletes whose names criss-cross the school's all-time record books in their respective sports, a long-time coach and one of the unsung heroes of MSU athletics comprise an eight-member induction class for 2013 into the Missouri State University Athletics Hall of Fame. The group includes standouts from six different MSU teams as the shrine's 39th annual induction unfolds the weekend of Feb. 1-2, 2013.

  The long-time coach is former wrestling mentor Mike McCarty (1965-72, 73-89), who will be inducted posthumously. He'll be joined by one representative each from the sports of basketball, baseball, field hockey and soccer, two from track and field, plus physical education staff member and a backbone of MSU athletics game day events Jim Wright (1980-present).

  The 2013 Hall of Fame induction class includes McCarty, Wright, soccer player Matt Caution (1993-97), field hockey player Suzy Fortune (1980-84), track and field athlete Cheasa Gibson (2001-04), baseball player Jason Hart (1995-98), basketballer Kari Koch (2002-06) and track and field athlete Tracy Partain (2003-06). Wright and the former student-athletes will be in attendance and Coach McCarty will be represented by his widow, Nancy McCarty.

  While there are three pairs of siblings in the shrine, Partain is the first MSU Hall of Famer to be a second-generation selectee. Her mother, Sharon, was inducted in 1994-95 for her accomplishments in gymnastics from 1970 to 1973.

  The new inductees will be enshrined at a ceremony to be held Saturday, Feb.2, in an 11 a.m. brunch in the Plaster Student Union West Ballroom. Inductees will also be recognized in halftime ceremonies in that weekend's Missouri State basketball games in JQH Arena. The Lady Bears will host Indiana State Friday, Feb. 1, at 7:05 p.m., and the Bears will meet Evansville Saturday, Feb. 2, at 2:05 p.m.

 The 2013 MSU Athletics Hall of Fame induction brunch is open to the public and reservations may be made through Monday, Jan. 28, by calling Missouri State Athletics Development (417) 836-4143. Tickets are $25 per person.

  The eight new inductees will bring the total membership in the MSU Athletics Hall of Fame to 347. The original Hall of Fame for men's sports was established in 1975 by Director of Athletics Aldo Sebben with 179 people enshrined in the first 22 induction classes.  Director of Women's Athletics Dr. Mary Jo Wynn established in 1981 a shrine to honor participants in women's sports, and the 18 subsequent induction classes into that Hall of Fame saw 76 people enshrined.  The two previous groups were combined into a single shrine in 1999 and this year's induction will be the 15th for the combined hall.

  The new induction class into the shrine joins all previous honorees in the fifth year of permanent public recognition of the Athletcs Hall of Fame. An interactive video listing of the entire membership of the Hall of Fame is a part of the Legacy of Competition which opened in 2008 in the east entry lobby of JQH Arena. Photos and profile sketches of all Hall of Fame members are now on permanent display and the 2013 shrine class will be added to the display for Hall of Fame weekend.