Seven Set for Induction Into Missouri State Athletics Hall of Fame

Dec. 9, 2011


SPRINGFIELD -- A retiring two-sport coaching standout and six athletes with lengthy resumes from five other sports comprise a seven-member induction class for 2012 into the Missouri State University Athletics Hall of Fame. The group includes standouts from six different Missouri State teams as the shrine's 38th annual induction unfolds the weekend of Jan. 27-28.

Headlining the class is MSU men’s and women’s swimming coach Jack Steck, who retired Dec. 31 following 29 seasons at Missouri State and more than 44 years overall as a college swimming coach. He’ll be joined by two basketball players, two baseball players and one standout each from softball and track/cross country from the recent past in MSU athletics.

Coach Steck is joined in Missouri State’s 2012 Hall of Fame class by softball player Heather Anderson (1994-98), basketballer Kevin Ault (1996-00), baseball player Larry Goessling (1977-78), baseballer Steve Hacker (1993-95), basketball player Jenni Lingor (2001-05), and track and cross country runner Casey Owens (2001-05).

The new inductees will go into the shrine at an induction ceremony to be held Saturday, Jan. 28, in an 11:00 a.m. brunch at the Turner Family Practice Facility at Hammons Student Center. Inductees will also be recognized in halftime ceremonies in that weekend's Missouri State basketball games in JQH Arena. The Lady Bears will host Indiana State Friday, Jan. 27, at 7:05 p.m., and the Bears will meet Northern Iowa Saturday, Jan. 28, at 4 p.m.

The 2012 MSU Athletics Hall of Fame induction brunch is open to the public and reservations may be made by calling Missouri State Athletics Development (417) 836-4143. Tickets are $25 per person.

The seven new inductees will bring the total membership in the MSU Athletics Hall of Fame to 339. The original Hall of Fame for men’s sports was established in 1975 by Director of Athletics Aldo Sebben with 179 people enshrined in the first 22 induction classes.  Director of Women’s Athletics Dr. Mary Jo Wynn established in 1981 a shrine to honor participants in women’s sports, and the 18 subsequent induction classes into that Hall of Fame saw 76 people enshrined.  The two previous groups were combined into a single shrine in 1999 and this year’s induction will be the 14th for the combined hall.

The new induction class into the shrine joins all previous honorees in the fourth year of permanent public recognition of the Athletcs Hall of Fame. An interactive video listing of the entire membership of the Hall of Fame is a part of the Legacy of Competition which opened in 2008 in the east entry lobby of JQH Arena. Photos and writeups of Hall of Fame members are now on permanent display and the 2012 shrine class will be added to the display in January.