Bears All-Sports Showcase 2012
Bears All-Sports Showcase 2012
Women's Soccer Retains Control of Bear Cup at All-Sports Showcase

May 8, 2012

SPRINGFIELD -- For the third time in as many years, the Missouri State women's soccer team took home the top prize of the night, and a number of individual student-athletes were recognized as part of ceremonies Monday (May 7) at the third annual Bears All-Sports Showcase at JQH Arena.

Coach Rob Brewer's women's soccer squad was the top point collector in the Bear Cup team competition for student development, academic achievement, athletic excellence, career development, and community outreach. 

MSU's Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) served as the presenters for the evening and also took the lead in the nomination and selection process for the event and the awards presented.

Soccer standout Jessica Teahan (Sr., Lenexa, Kan.) was awarded the Dr. Mary Jo Wynn Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award, while football senior Jermaine Saffold (Grandview, Mo.) was selected as the recipient of the Bill Rowe Male Student-Athlete of the Year. Both awards were voted on by student-athlete peers among Missouri State's 16 intercollegiate athletic programs.

The Senior Student-Athletes of the Year were presented to a pair of senior basketball legends in Kyle Weems (Topeka, Kan.) and Casey Garrison (Bolivar, Mo.). The tandem won the junior-class awards in 2011, while Weems was named male Sophomore of the Year at the inaugural BASS in 2010.

Junior Student-Athlete of the Year awards went to golfer Daily Young (Springfield, Mo.) and track standout Kimsue Grant (Arlington, Va.). Grant also won the award for female Sophomore of the Year in 2011.

The 2012 Sophomore Student-Athlete of the Year awards went to baseball pitcher Nick Petree (Clinton, Mo.) and women's basketball sensation Karly Buer (Concordia, Kan.). The recipients of the Freshman Student-Athlete of the Year awards were baseball southpaw Tyler Burgess (Webb City, Mo.) and MVC Volleyball Freshman of the Year Oliva Brand (Springfield, Mo.).

The individual team most valuable players were also named, as voted on by head coaches. The men's team MVPs were awarded to: Nick Petree (baseball, So., Clinton, Mo.), Jermaine Saffold (football, Sr., Grandview, Mo.), Thomas Vania (soccer, Sr., Kennesaw, Ga.), Kyle Weems (basketball, Sr., Topeka, Kan.), Daily Young (golf, Jr., Springfield, Mo.). The men's swimming and diving team MVP honors were shared by Vitaliy Baryshok (Fr., Lugansk, Ukraine) and Paul Le (Fr., Moore, Okla.).

Women's team MVPs were awarded to: Casey Bayliss (field hockey, Sr., Bathurst, New South Wales), Emily Beaver (cross country, Jr., Diamond, Mo.), Casey Garrison (basketball, Sr., Bolivar, Mo.), Kimsue Grant (track and field, Jr., Arlington, Va.), Natalie Rose (softball, Sr., Henryetta, Okla.), Renata Sander (swimming, So., Belo Horizonte, Brazil), Jessica Teahan (soccer, Sr., Lenexa, Kan.), Carly Thomas (volleyball, So., Swansea, Ill.). Women's golf MVP honors were shared by Catherine Dolan (Sr., Ballwin, Mo.) and Kelsey Welber (Sr., Plano, Texas).

The 2011-12 MVC State Farm Good Neighbor Award recipients were also recognized at the event. They were Ashlee Mason (volleyball, So., Granby, Mo.), Christiana Shorter (basketball, Jr., Tulsa, Okla.), and Emily Beaver (cross country, Jr., Diamond, Mo.).

Additional team awards went to women's golf (Community Service Award), women's swimming and diving (Athletic Excellence Award), women's soccer (Career Development Award) and women's cross country (Team GPA Award).  Women's soccer and women's swimming shared the Student Development Award honors.

Approximately 300 student-athletes, coaches, staff and athletics personnel attended the event which was preceded by a reception to honor the program's senior student-athletes.