Football standouts Caleb Schaffitzel and Mike Crutcher
Football standouts Caleb Schaffitzel and Mike Crutcher
MSU Field Hockey Retains Control of Bear Cup at Showcase

May 5, 2014

SPRINGFIELD - For the second year in a row, the Missouri State University field hockey team took home the night's top honor at the fifth annual Bears All-Sports Showcase, presented by The Bank of Missouri, Monday night at JQH Arena. A number of individual student-athletes were also recognized as part of the ceremonies.  

Coach Gabby Gomez Sosa's women's field hockey squad was the top point collector in the Bear Cup team competition for student development, academic achievement, athletic excellence, career development, and community outreach. Ron Boyce's track and field team was the runner-up for the Bear Cup this year.

Members of MSU's Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) served as the presenters for the evening, which includes a red-carpet entry and awards similar to ESPN's Espy Awards. SAAC members also took the lead in the nomination and selection process for the event and the awards presented.

The event included a highlight reel of the program's more than 2,700 hours of volunteer and community service efforts during the 2013-14 year. The total economic impact of MSU's volunteer efforts is in around $61,000 to the Springfield community.

Soccer standout Kelsey Fouch (Jr., St. Charles, Mo.) was awarded the Dr. Mary Jo Wynn Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award, while football junior Caleb Schaffitzel (Fair Grove, Mo.) was selected as the recipient of the Bill Rowe Male Student-Athlete of the Year. Both awards were voted on by student-athlete peers among Missouri State's 16 intercollegiate athletic programs.

The Bank of Missouri also presented its Eagle awards to field hockey standout Andrea Bain (Sr., Victoria, British Columbia) and swimmer Isaac McKnight (Jr., Chickasha, Okla.). The Bank of Missouri recognized these top performers with a $500 donation to the Bears Fund in their honor.

The Senior Student-Athletes of the Year were presented to men's soccer goal keeper Trevor Spangenberg (Valparaiso, Ind.) and volleyball setter Carly Thomas (Swansea, Ill).

Junior Student-Athlete of the Year awards went to swimmer Paul Le (Moore, Okla.) and track sprinter Althia Maximilien (Bridgetown, Barbados).

The 2014 Sophomore Student-Athlete of the Year awards went swimmer Uvis Kalnins (Valmiera, Latvia) and basketball standout Tyonna Snow (Blue Springs, Mo.). The recipients of the Freshman Student-Athlete of the Year awards were soccer phenom Jack Griffin (Beverley, England) and swimmer Briana Horozewski (Dousman, Wis.).

The individual team most valuable players were also named, as voted on by head coaches. The men's team MVPs were awarded to: Tate Matheny (baseball, So., St. Louis, Mo.); Jarmar Gulley (basketball, Sr., Beaumont, Texas); Caleb Schaffitzel (football, Jr., Fair Grove, Mo.); Joey Johnson (golf, So., Ozark, Mo.); Trevor Spangenberg (soccer, Sr., Valparaiso, Ind.); and Uvis Kalnins (swimming and diving, So., Valmiera, Latvia). Schaffitzel was a repeat winner as football team MVP.

Women's team MVPs were awarded to: Kenzie Williams (basketball, So., Mt. Vernon, Mo.); Charlie Redhead (field hockey, So., Norfolk, England); Chiara Citterio (Jr., Milan, Italy); Ashley Brentz (softball, Sr., St. Louis, Mo.); Kelsey Fouch (Jr., St. Charles, Mo.); Althia Maximilien (cross country/track and field, Jr., Bridgetown, Barbados); Renata Sander (swimming and diving, Sr., Belo Horizonte, Brazil); and Carly Thomas (volleyball, Sr., Swansea, Ill.).

The 2013-14 MVC Leadership and Service Award recipients were also recognized at the event. They were Schaffitzel (football, Jr., Fair Grove, Mo.), Bry Snow (basketball, Sr., Blue Springs, Mo.) and Eric Straub (golf, Sr., Paducah, Ky.).

The Missouri State men's golf team took home the award for the highest grade point average as Neal Stafford's squad posted a 3.64 GPA this year to also claim the Academic Excellence Award.

Additional team awards went to softball (Community Outreach Award), women's track and field (Athletic Excellence Award), field hockey (Student Development Award) and men's swimming and diving (Career Development Award). 

The Best Sports Moment was award to the men's swimming and diving squad for winning the Mid-American Conference team title, while the Biggest Upset Award went to women's basketball for its 67-53 win over Missouri on Dec. 19.

Approximately 300 student-athletes, coaches, staff and athletics personnel attended the fifth annual event.