MSU Spirit Squads Earn Solid National Finishes

Jan. 19, 2014

ORLANDO, Fla. -- The Missouri State University spirit squads had a successful day Saturday (Jan. 18) at the 2014 UCA/UDA Nationals, held at Disney's Wide World of Sports here.

For the second year in a row, the MSU Cheerleaders finished fifth in the Universal Cheerleaders Association Division 1 finals. It marked the squad's ninth consecutive top-five national finish.

Delaware unseated defending champion Morehead State (2nd) for the Division 1 cheer title, followed by Wichita State, Northwestern State and Missouri State in the top five.

At the Universal Dance Association Nationals, the Sugar Bears dance team finished eighth in the Jazz finals, won by Cal State Fullerton for the second year in a row. Long Beach State was second, followed by Southeastern Louisiana, Hofstra, Delaware, North Dakota State, UC Santa Barbara. Missouri State and Northern Arizona tied for 8th place, ahead of 10th-place Northern Iowa in the 21-team field. The Sugar Bears have now made the national jazz finals five straight years.

In the hip hop competition, the Sugar Bears did not advance to the finals, but tied for 9th place overall in the 17-team field for their sixth straight top 10 finish in this category. St. Joseph's won the overall Division 1 Hip Hop title, followed by Hofstra, St. John's and Southeastern Louisiana in the top four.

Both the Sugar Bears, coached by Susan Brown, and the MSU Cheer Squad, coached by Tim Williams, earned partially-paid trips to the national event based on their pre-national rankings.

The showcase of the country's best college cheerleaders, dance team performers and mascots, is in its 30th year.


D1 Cheer Finals
1. Delaware
2. Morehead State
3. Wichita State
4. Northwestern State
5. Missouri State

D1 Jazz Finals
1. California State Fullerton
2. Long Beach State
3. Southeastern Louisiana
4. Hofstra
5. Delaware
6. North Dakota State
7. UC Santa Barbara
t8. Missouri State
t8. Northern Arizona
10. Northern Iowa

D1 Hip Hop Finals
1. Saint Joseph's
2. Hofstra
3. St. John's
4. Southeastern Louisiana
5. Delaware
6. Northern Arizona
7. Milwaukee
8. College of Charleston
-- Missouri State (semifinalists, tied for 9th)